Banner BS
Slovensko Login
Print Smaller font Larger font
Advanced search

Bank of Slovenia

Laws and Regulations

Monetary policy

Financial stability

Banking Supervision

Credit institutions and registers of payment and electronic money institutions

Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM)

Supervisory disclosure

Stress tests

Deposit Guarantee Scheme

Resolution of banks

Payment and Settlement Systems



Banknotes and Coins


Central Credit Register

Home  > Banking Supervision    

Banking Supervision

In November 2014 a new system of banking supervision for Europe was established - the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM). SSM comprises the ECB and the national supervisory authorities of the participating countries.

Its main aims are to:

  • ensure the safety and soundness of the European banking system
  • increase financial integration and stability
  • ensure consistent supervision

The SSM is one of the pillars of the EU banking union.

The ECB directly supervises the 129 significant banks of the participating countries or almost 82% of banking assets in the euro area - also 3 banks from Slovenia (NLB, d.d., NKBM, d.d. and Abanka d.d.). Ongoing supervision of the significant banks is carried out by Joint Supervisory Teams (JSTs). Each significant bank has a dedicated JST, comprising staff of the ECB and the national supervisors.

Banks that are not considered significant are known as “less significant” institutions. They continue to be supervised by their national supervisors, in close cooperation with the ECB.
More about Bank of Slovenia's supervision activities in  Annual report 2015  - 3.6 Banking supervision.

Page Banking Supervision is designed for anyone who needs a variety of information on the functioning of banks and their relationships with the Bank of Slovenia. Here you will find:



Bank of Slovenia
Slovenska 35
1505 Ljubljana
Phone: +386 1 471 90 00
Fax: +386 1 251 55 16
Site map
Supervisory disclosure
Single Euro Payments Area
Disclaimer and Copyright | Privacy protection