Banner BS
Slovensko Login
Print Smaller font Larger font
Advanced search

Bank of Slovenia

Laws and Regulations

Monetary policy

Financial stability

Banking Supervision

Deposit Guarantee Scheme

Resolution of banks

Payment and Settlement Systems



Banknotes and Coins

Euro Banknotes

Euro Coins


Republic of Slovenia Commemorative Coins

Republic of Slovenia Collector Coins

Bank of Slovenia Numismatic Products

Numismatic News

Euro Counterfeits

Slovenian tolar


Central Credit Register

Home  > Banknotes and Coins  > Euro Coins  > Republic of Slovenia Collector Coins

100th anniversary of the May Declaration

In 1917 Slovene, Croatian and Serbian members of the Vienna parliament came together to form the Yugoslav Club. The leader of the club, Anton Korošec (1872-1940), read its political manifesto, the May Declaration, in the Vienna parliament on 30 May 1917. The declaration had been inspired by Janez Evangelist Krek (1865-1917). The declaration was signed by all 33 Yugoslav deputies, 20 of whom were Slovenes. It read as follows: The undersigned deputies of the Yugoslav Club hereby declare that, on the basis of the national principle and the Croatian state right, they call for the unification of all lands of the monarchy inhabited by Slovenes, Croats and Serbs into one independent state, under the sceptre of the Habsburg-Lorraine dynasty, free from the domination of other nations and on a democratic basis. They will do all in their power to realise this call for a unified nation. The undersigned will participate in parliamentary work under this reservation (taken from the 3 August 1917 issue of the newspaper Slovenski narod). The government, the court and the military all rejected the declaration.
The May Declaration gave rise to the Declaration Movement, which encompassed the entire Slovene nation. Around 200,000 signatures were collected supporting the deputies’ call. This awakened the consciousness among Slovenes that they should decide their fate themselves.
As Austria-Hungary collapsed, the National Council of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs, which was presided over by Anton Korošec, proclaimed the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs on 29 October 1918. Union with the Kingdom of Serbia in December of the same year created the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes as a unitary monarchy. It was renamed the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929.
To mark the 100th anniversary of the May Declaration, the Republic of Slovenia is issuing collector coins whose motifs are a facsimile of the date “ 29/5 17” on the obverse and time “½ 9h zvečer” (8.30 pm) on the reverse, taken from the preserved manuscript of the declaration.
Coin designer: Ana Kompara, Ajdovščina / Slovenia
Minting: Mincovňa Kremnica, š.p., Kremnica / Slovakia

Gold coin Silver coin
Nominal value: EUR 100
Weight: 7 g
Diameter: 24 mm
Purty: Au 900/1000
Issued:1,000 coins 
Price:  320 €
Nominal value: EUR 30
Weight: 15 g
Diameter: 32 mm
Purty: Ag 925/1000
Issued: 2,000 coins 
Price:  40 €

Put up for sale: 29 May 2017

Put up for sale: 29 May 2017
Collector bi-coloured coin

Nominal value: EUR 3
Weight: 15 g
Diameter: 32 mm
Alloy: centre Cu Ni / ring Cu Zn Ni
Issued: 90,500 coins
Price: 3 €

Put up for sale: 29 May 2017


List of numismatic products

Sale of numismatic products

Numismatic products may be bought or ordered:

  •  at the cashier's desk of Banka Slovenije* (opening hours: 9.00-13.00, Wednesday also from 14.00-15.30)
  • by e-mail:

* Orders are binding for banks in as much as quantities of numismatic issues are available. Data regarding quantities are available at


Bank of Slovenia
Slovenska 35
1505 Ljubljana
Phone: +386 1 471 90 00
Fax: +386 1 251 55 16
Site map
Supervisory disclosure
Single Euro Payments Area
Disclaimer and Copyright | Privacy protection