Banner BS
Slovensko Login
Print Smaller font Larger font
Advanced search

Bank of Slovenia

Laws and Regulations

Monetary policy

Financial stability

Banking Supervision

Deposit Guarantee Scheme

Resolution of banks

Resolution and compulsory winding up of banks

Bank Resolution Fund

Payment and Settlement Systems



Banknotes and Coins


Central Credit Register

Home  > Resolution of banks    

Resolution of banks

As a response to the multifaceted financial and economic crisis, the European Commission proposed the establishment of a banking union in 2012. The banking union is based on three pillars and is being established gradually. It will provide a single, extensive range of effective measures for the supervision of banks, for the prevention of difficulties at banks and prompt measures if such difficulties should arise, and for a single deposit guarantee scheme for depositors at banks.
One of the key changes brought about by the banking union in the scope of the Single Resolution Mechanism is that the financial burden of bank resolution will be transferred from the state budget to the banking sector. The ultimate objective is a sustained increase in trust on behalf of the general public and investors in EU banks.

The banking union is based on three pillars:

Bank resolution arrangements

Resolution fund (based on the Bank Resolution Authority and Fund Act)


Measures based on the Resolution and Compulsory Winding Up of Banks Act


Bank of Slovenia
Slovenska 35
1505 Ljubljana
Phone: +386 1 471 90 00
Fax: +386 1 251 55 16
Site map
Supervisory disclosure
Single Euro Payments Area
Disclaimer and Copyright | Privacy protection